ALAawardsThe American Library Association (ALA) announced winners of their Youth Media Awards this morning from Seattle. These awards include the Newbery, Caldecott, Printz, and Coretta Scott King Book Awards. Newbery:CaldecottWe tweeted a couple of the winners today; Katherine Applegate for, The One and Only Ivan (Newbery) and Jon Klassen for, This is Not My Hat (Caldecott). As a knitter, I feel compelled to mention that another one of Jon Klassen’s book, Extra Yarn, received a Caldecott Honor. Extra YarnHonorYet another book, “Bomb: The Race to Build—and Steal—the World’s Most Dangerous Weapon,”written by Steve Sheinkin, has been named the 2013 winner of the YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults. During the afternoon ELA’s Peace Play rehearsals, this book made an appearance in the class so interested readers could add to their schema surrounding the story of Sadako.Bomb


About Nati

Mother of 2 amazing kids, lucky reading and social studies teacher of deep thinking 5th graders, travel enthusiast, student of life, reader of books, knitter, resident of The Pale Blue Dot.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s